Portraits: Mother and Son

I tried a different lighting setup for this shoot.  Instead of using three continuous light sources supplemented by speedflash, I used only one strobe inside a large softbox.  The light was placed within about two feet of the subjects to decrease the amount of wrap-around light and increasing the shadows.  I think this added a little depth and maybe even a little more drama to the photos.  Still, the shadows were a bit more than I would like for most shoots and I think that, in the future, I’ll add a bounce or additional light on the opposite side to decrease the shadows a bit.


7 thoughts on “Portraits: Mother and Son

Please add your voice to the discussion!

